Skip to content

Alfredsson passed over once again by Hockey Hall of Fame

This year's induction class includes former Ottawa Senator Marion Hossa, Jarome Iginla, Doug Wilson, Kim St. Pierre and Ken Holland.
Royal 2
Former Ottawa Senators Captain Daniel Alfredsson holds an award given to him by The Royal Ottawa Hospital Foundation for his work on mental health issues. (Andrew Pinsent/

Jarome Iginla will headline the Hockey Hall of Fame's class of 2020.

The Calgary Flames icon and former captain was in his first year of eligibility following a standout career that spanned from 1996 through 2017.

Six-time Stanley Cup champion Kevin Lowe will join Iginla in the players' category along with forward Marian Hossa, defencemen and Doug Wilson and three-time Olympic gold medallist Kim St. Pierre, the first female goaltender elected to the hall.

Ken Holland will go in as a builder, rounding out the 2020 class unveiled this afternoon in Toronto following a vote by the hall's 18-member selection committee.

Iginla, who also helped Canada win gold at the 2002 and 2010 Olympics, will be the fourth Black person enshrined in the hall, but just the second recognized for on-ice accomplishments in the NHL.

He's set to join former Edmonton Oilers goalie Grant Fuhr, Angela James of the Canadian women's national team, and Willie O'Ree -- the league's first Black player -- who was inducted as a builder.

This year's induction class does not include Ottawa Senators great Daniel Alfredsson, who has been eligable for the hall since 2017.

Joshua Clipperton, The Canadian Press

--With files from Mike Vlasveld,


Rogers Media
2001 Thurston Drive Ottawa, ON, K1G 6C9 © 2006-2020 Rogers Media. All rights reserved.